.

Blog | Richmond Marketing Agency

Add this to your list of things to be completed before you die: choosing a legacy contact on Facebook. Facebook's newest feature allows users to choose someone (known as a "legacy contact") to manage their account after they pass away.

Here's how it works: After a Facebook user's death, a family member or friend can submit a Memorialization Request. The form lets family members send in an obituary or documentation of death so Facebook can verify that the person is deceased. Once the account has been switched to a memorialized profile, the word "Remembering" is added above the user's name as a tribute. The legacy contact will be able to pin posts to the top of the Timeline in order to announce memorial service information, share a special message, etc. When setting up your legacy contact, you control how much information you want your legacy contact to see. For example, your legacy contact will not be able to log in as you or see any of your private Facebook messages. You can also choose to allow your legacy contact to download an archive of the photos, posts and profile information you shared on Facebook in your lifetime.

Here's what Facebook had to say about the new feature: "Our team at Facebook is grateful and humbled to be working on these improvements. We hope this work will help people experience loss with a greater sense of possibility, comfort and support."

Still think it's a little creepy? No worries. Facebook also gives you the option to have your Facebook account permanently deleted after you die.

Like what you read? Want to see more blog posts?

Return to Blog

 

Have a marketing question? Want to talk?

Contact Us

measurably different®